Why being a Lawyer is an Extraordinary Profession

11/08/2014 08:49

The recent survey shows the downbeat headlines of many college students who wouldn’t choose being a lawyer as a lifetime profession, and wouldn’t recommend the profession to their siblings and would rather choose digging bitches and breaking rocks. As for them, the profession is a struggle and certainly not easy.

But, haven’t you discovered the other side of being a lawyer – the side that is not timorous and doesn’t grab much headlines, how about satisfaction and high regards? Do you find these things rewarding compare to the usual notion? This article is a compilation of stories from different lawyers across the nation, who shared their thoughts why being a lawyer is an extraordinary profession.

 

I love being a lawyer because when I stand up before a jury and thank my clients for the privilege of representing them (and I usually feel pretty emotional whenever I say that, with chills) I realize I am being trusted to pre sent them, what they feel, what they believe. And I take that very seriously.

Anthony Minchella
Middlebury, Conn.

 

Best job in the world: I get paid to read, write, think, talk and argue—all things I would do anyway.

Rick Ball
Chicago

 

What I like about being a lawyer: being self-employed.

I feel so much more adult. No one writes me up if I get caught in traffic and walk in the door 15 seconds late in my own office. I don’t have to ask if I can change my lunch time. I get to sit by the window, and if I want vacation time I can just plan it without having to ask the boss.

Diane Stamler Oraif
Tuscaloosa, Ala.

 

I love being a lawyer because I can make a difference in someone’s life. I help people live debt-free. I’ve had clients tell me it’s changed their life for the better, that they can sleep at night and stop fighting with their spouse about money. How awesome is that?

Jeena Cho
San Francisco

 

I love the creativity involved with handling virtually every case or matter. Law is a thinking profession, not just a doing job.

Shell Bleiweiss
Chicago

 

I get to think through problems every day for people I really like.

Lisa Babcock
East Lansing, Mich.

 

love being a lawyer because it gives me the opportunity to use the law to make someone’s life better. To paraphrase Ralph Waldo Emerson’s “Self-Reliance,” it affords me a chance to accommodate my contrarian nature by confronting those who think they understand my duty better than I. I could not ask for more.

Joseph J. Levin Jr.
Montgomery, Ala.

 

America is a society based on law and justice. I love the fact that I have a role in making this ideal a reality, however small.

Richard Granat
Palm Beach Gardens, Fla.

 

I love that the law never sleeps and doesn’t require that all be done 9 to 5.

I could spend the morning as an attorney guardian ad litem representing kids who were in foster care, the afternoon as a mom with my kids and then the evening into the wee hours of the morning tackling esoteric legal issues arising from complex commercial litigation.

Jennifer Schrack Dempsey
Boise, Idaho

 

 

My first job was doing collections, and I took to it like a duck takes to water. If someone doesn’t have the money to pay their debt in full, I work hard to resolve the situation to everyone’s satisfaction. If someone does have the money and is trying to hide it, it’s the art of getting the money and being creative that makes this job fun. I enjoy the fine art of garnishment, and I don’t mean food preparation.

Robert Markoff
Chicago

I was a practicing civil attorney for 57 years. I loved my profession because it gave me an opportunity to be of service. I always asked myself one question:What can I do to help the client? What advice can I provide that will be of some benefit? If you provide real and meaningful legal services, you will be properly compensated. I enjoyed every day and pursued my work with passion.

Dempsey Prappas
Houston

 

What I love the most about being a lawyer is freedom. In 35 years, I have had three different careers in law, and even within those careers, I have been free to pursue my own professional desires.

Lee Nation
Prescott, Ariz.

 

I was a practicing civil attorney for 57 years. I loved my profession because it gave me an opportunity to be of service. I always asked myself one question:What can I do to help the client? What advice can I provide that will be of some benefit? If you provide real and meaningful legal services, you will be properly compensated. I enjoyed every day and pursued my work with passion.

Dempsey Prappas
Houston

Back

Contact

Jeffrey Cancilla
Orange County, California Area
California
92605

+1 714-502-5295

© 2014 All rights reserved.

Make a free websiteWebnode